International Songwriting Competition Announces 2005 Dance/Electronica Winners

The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has announced the winners for its 2005 annual competition.

“Tell Me Why,” by Recone Helmut and Pete Miser, has been awarded First
Place in the Dance/Electronica category. Brooklyn-based producer Helmut
is part of the duo ph10, whose album Helmutvision was one of the most
anticipated releases in the electronic underground. Raves Magazine
calls the album “Slick, phatt, and diverse, Helmutvision should
intrigue those interested in a mix of big phatt beats and drum and

The Source calls Pete Miser “a multi-talented, multi-cultural
B-boy,” and his talent is apparent on his latest full-length album
Camouflage Is Relative. The album sets him apart from the pack by
exploring themes as diverse as gentrification, lost love and American
politics. Pete has traveled the world with his music both as a solo
artist and as the DJ for Arista recording artist Dido.

Second Place honors have been awarded to Neil Cascarino (England)
and DJ Mikaso (Spain) for their collaborative effort “Time Will Always
Tell,” and Third Place honors have been awarded to “Your Country” by
Israeli artist J. Viewz.

In addition to these winners, nine other Dance/Electronica songs garnered placement in the top 1.4% of the competition.

ISC received almost 15,000 entries from 82 countries in its fourth
year. ISC prizes include more than $150,000 (USD) in cash and
merchandise shared by 50 winners in 16 categories.

A complete List Of Dance/Electronica Winners is as follows:

First Place

  • “Tell Me Why” — Recone Helmut (pH10), Pete Miser – Brooklyn, NY, USA

Second Place

  • “Time Will Always Tell” — Neil Cascarino, Colin Preston (DJ Mikaso) – Kettering, England / Cadiz, Spain

Third Place

  • “Your Country” — Jonathan Dagan (J.Viewz) – Israel

Honorable Mentions

  • “Birthday” — Jessy Moss, Wally Gagel – Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA
  • “Black Hole” — Traz Damji, Ken Marshall (The Humble Brothers) – North Hills, CA, USA
  • “Goodbye Juggernaut” — Kayt Jourdanson, Scott Kinnebrew (Matson Belle) – Ohlsbach, Germany
  • “Houston Skyline” — Kate Simko, Philip Glass – Chicago, IL, USA
  • “I’m Lost” — Meital Patash (Knob) – Jafa, Israel
  • “Nightclub City” — Kathy Romeo, Dino Pacifici – Montreal, QC, Canada
  • “Nun Other” — MoShang – Taichung, Taiwan
  • “Stakeout” — Kasson Crooker, Jussi Gamache (Freezepop) – Cambridge, MA, USA
  • “The Good Stuff” — Leslie Meils, Matt Meils (Sid Maudlin) – Chicago, IL, USA

A complete list of all ISC winners is available at the SongrwitingCompetition site.

Judges for the 2005 competition include: Tom Waits; Loretta Lynn; Sonny
Rollins; John Scofield; Steve Vai; Macy Gray; Joss Stone; MercyMe; Amy
Ray (Indigo Girls); Darryl McDaniels (Run D.M.C.); LeAnn Rimes; Isaac
Brock (Modest Mouse); Jeff Stinco (Simple Plan); BeBe Winans; Peter
Hook (New Order); Benji Madden (Good Charlotte);

Charlie Musselwhite; The Donnas; Monte Lipman (President, Universal
Records); Keith Wozencroft (President, Capitol Music UK); Glen Barros
(CEO/President, Concord Records); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President,
Alligator Records); Cameron Strang (President, New West Records); Dan
Storper (President, Putumayo World Music); Michael McDonald (President,
ATO Records); Alexandra Patsavas (Owner, The Chop Shop Music
Supervision – credits include The OC, Grey’s Anatomy, Without A Trace,
Carnivale, Rescue Me ); Darrale Jones (VP A&R Urban, Atlantic
Records); Chris Parr (VP Music Programming & Talent Relations,
CMT); Barbara Sedun (VP Creative, EMI Music Publishing Canada); Tara
Griggs-Magee (Executive VP of Gospel/Urban Music, Sony Records); Leib
Ostrow (CEO, Music For Little People), Thomas Brooman
(Co-Founder/Artistic Director, WOMAD); Cory Robbins (Founder/President,
Robbins Entertainment); Emily Wittmann (Vice-President, Nick Records);
Patrick Moxey (President, Ultra Records/You Records/Sequence Records/
Escondida Music/Empire Mgmt.) and Danny Epstein (Music Supervisor,
Sesame Street/Sesame Workshop).

2005 Sponsors include: Epiphone, ASCAP, Berklee College Of Music,
L.R. Baggs, Disc Makers, Alphabet Arm Design, FYE, Cakewalk, Fishman
Transducers, ADK Microphones, Moog Music, Sam Ash Music Stores,
Sibelius, Planetary Group, Hear Technologies, Music Registry,
Mediaguide, ArtistMonitor,, Musician’s Atlas, Sonicbids

Leave a Reply