Mannheim Steamroller – Halloween 2: Creatures Collection

Convoy man Chip Davis is back with another dose of Fresh Aire with his latest release, Halloween 2.

Halloween 2 doesn’t stray too far from the standard Mannheim Steamroller sound, mixing synths with classical instruments and throwing in some scary sound effects. Davis has figured out a formula that works for his fans, and he delivers.

This release is massive; it’s a three disc set, with music, remixes, scary sound effects and even videos. The first CD is a collection of “scary” songs, made up mostly of covers of well-known theme songs, like The Addams Family and the X-Files themes. There are also a couple of Halloween standbys, including the Monster Mash and Black Magic Woman. The disc is filled out with a few originals, most notably Creatures of the Night.

Disc 2 is half effects and half dance remixes. The EFX section is the highlight of the entire release; it’s a collection of Halloween-themed sound collages. Expect to hear these piped through some outdoor speakers this Halloween. The second part of this CD is an incongruous set of Creature of the Night dance remixes. All are forgettable, except for the Trafik remix, which recalls Giorgio Moroder at his best, and sounds like it could actually get club play.

The last disc is a DVD of three music videos, and an instructional video on doing the Creatures of the Night dance. The videos should appeal to young kids, and may be the only way to learn how to do the theremin dance.


  • Creatures Of The Night
  • ‘The Addams Family’ Theme Song
  • ‘Psycho’ Theme Song
  • ‘Dark Shadows’ Theme Song
  • Superstition
  • ‘The Outer Limits’ Theme Song
  • Monster Mash
  • Trick Or Treat
  • ‘Dr. Who’ Theme Song
  • ‘The X-Files’ Theme Song
  • Black Magic Woman
  • Mummy Walk (Psilvu Sahara)

Leave a Reply