Cedric Gervais – Experiment

French DJ Fredric Gervais has been a top Miami DJ for years. On Experiment, his debut release, he showcases his skill with hard, retro-80’s dance electronica.

Gervais kicks the CD off with Experiment. The lyrics give you a hint of what the CD is about:

“It’s an experiment of sound.
It’s an experiment of music;
It’s an experiment for pleasure;
It’s an experiment for life.”

While there’s nothing especially experimental about Gervais’ Experiment, it’s a success nonetheless. Gervais mines the 80’s for massive electro beats and DX-style basslines. And, while his sound is influenced by the 80’s, his sound is cutting edge.

The CD is filled with catchy dance tracks. Spirit in My Life, which features Caroline on vocals, is a driving trance number. Instead of the usual happy happy bliss lyrics, though, Spirit in My Life is about loss. Shut The Fuck You features Gervais dad, telling you to “shut up and dance.”

On Respect, Gervais gives props to everybody from DJ Hell to the Chemical Brothers to Paul Van Dyk. He name checks his influences a la Daft Punk’s Teachers. Electro Therapy is a simple track that explores electro sounds and manages to be catchy as hell.

On his debut CD, Gervais delivers massive hooks, club-friendly beats and enough surprises to make this Experiment a success.


  • Experiment
  • Spirit In My Life
  • Bang
  • Halfway Love
  • Sky
  • Shut The F**k
  • Pills
  • Fire
  • Respect
  • Electro Therapy
  • Interlude
  • Touch

Leave a Reply