Vienna Symphonic Library Releases Special Woodwinds Virtual Instrument

Vienna Symphonic Library Special WoodwindsThe Vienna Symphonic Library team has released VIENNA INSTRUMENTS Collection SPECIAL WOODWINDS, which is now available from Vienna’s worldwide network of distributors and dealers.


The Special Woodwinds Collection is a 29 GB cornucopia of exotic treasures for symphonic and orchestral works. A special gem is the bass flute. With its velvety, earthy sound, it expands the flute family to its lowest register, evoking mystery and depth in dramatic music. The oboe d’amore adds a lyrical and rich member to the oboe family and was performed by Vienna’s experienced oboist Markus Deuter, who was also responsible for the French Oboe. The heckelphone with its dark, expressive character rounds out the oboes’ tenor register.

The Special Woodwinds Collection features two additions to the clarinet family as well, including the warm, full-sounding basset horn that covers the alto/tenor registers, and the powerful, sonorous contrabass clarinet.


  • Standard Library: EUR425/US-$555
  • Extended Library: EUR395/US-$515
  • Full Library: EUR820/US-$1,070

System Requirements
PC Intel/AMD 2 GHz (3++ GHz recommended) with Windows XP or Apple G4 1 GHz (G5 or Intel Core Duo processor recommended) with Mac OS X 10.4 or higher

  • 1 GB RAM (2 GB recommended)
  • VST (PC) or AU (Mac) compatible host, also works stand-alone on PC and Mac
  • DVD drive for installation
  • Fast separate hard drive
  • 88 key master keyboard (highly recommended)
  • ViennaKey (Vienna Symphonic Library USB Protection Device)

Leave a Reply