Free Supernova Sound Banks For MiniNova, UltraNova

Novation-SupernovaNovation has announced the release of two new free sound packs for their MiniNova and UltraNova keyboard synthesizers. The new Supernova sound banks are made up of sounds from the original 1998 rack mount Supernova synthesizer, created by the Supernova’s original sound designer, Phil McDonald.

McDonald created the iconic sounds of the Supernova that powered classics by Orbital, ATB, Jean Michel Jarre and A Guy Called Gerald, among others.

The first of the two soundpacks, with 64 sounds, is available now, as part of Novation’s 21st Anniversary celebration. The second pack will be released later in the year.

Here is a SoundCloud demo of the sound bank: Continue reading

Moog Intros All White Editions Of Its Analog Instruments

Today Moog Music announced limited edition all white versions of its analog instruments:

Moog has polarized the color of their traditionally black steel and natural wood instruments to a solid white finish. Included in this limited edition white release are the Slim Phatty, Minimoog Voyager, and the Minimoog Voyager XL analog synthesizers. Moog has also included the entire line of Moogerfooger Analog Effects Modules in this all white release.

Continue reading

Orbital & Stephen Hawking Rock The Paralympic Games

YouTube Preview Image

This video captures the Orbital + Stephen Hawking performance at the opening ceremony of the 2012 Summer Paralympics.

The performance defiantly celebrates the possibilities embraced by the Paralympiad, and features Orbital’s Where Is It Going? and Ian Dury’s Spasticus Autisticus.

Better than the 2012 Olympic opener? Check it out and let us know what you think!

Moogfest 2012 Lineup Features Orbital, Squarepusher, Thomas Dolby & Others

MoogfestOrganizers have announced the line up Moogfest 2012, a festival of ‘electronic and visionary music’ that celebrates the spirit of Bob Moog.

Moogfest 2012 is scheduled for Friday, October 26 and Saturday, October 27, 2012 in Asheville, NC.

The 2012 Moogfest lineup includes Primus 3D, a stop on the 3D-enhanced live musical tour, Swedish electro-pop artists Miike Snow,Santigold, Orbital, Richie Hawtin, Squarepusher, Carl Craig and Pantha du Prince.

Other performers confirmed include Thomas Dolby, Explosions In The Sky, Divine Fits, Four Tet, the Magnetic Fields, Prefuse 73 with Teebs, Actress, Disclosure, Juila Holter and Blondes.

Artists will perform at venues throughout downtown Asheville.

Weekend passes, daily GA tickets and VIP packages for Moogfest 2012 will go on sale Friday, August 10 AT Noon EST at the Moogfest site.

Continue reading