Need to run midi signals beyond 50 ft

Anything to do with synths and other electronic music hardware.

Need to run midi signals beyond 50 ft

Postby midiextender » Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:22 am

Check out www.midiextender.com

The Midi-1001 Cat5 based system will extend midi signals up to 1000 ft!
The Midi 2001 Fiber Optic system will extend signals up to I mile or more!
midiextender
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:02 pm

MIDI over fiber optic cables or MIDI over CAT5

Postby midiextender » Sat Apr 28, 2012 11:44 pm

MIDI over fiber optic cables or MIDI over CAT5. MIDI signals over Fiber Optic cables can travel a mile or more with no loss of data. MIDI over CAT5 about 1000ft.
midiextender
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:02 pm

Re: Need to run midi signals beyond 50 ft

Postby midiextender » Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:57 pm

midiextender
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:02 pm

Re: Need to run midi signals beyond 50 ft

Postby midiextender » Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:33 am

midiextender
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:02 pm

Re: Need to run midi signals beyond 50 ft

Postby engineer » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:06 pm

Which cases do you see for this app? I was involved in many productions and hardly experienced such a case, where this requirement occured. The only thing simular was the early DMX-fuctions where Mixing Consoles were controlled this way.

I once had an app where I could have used that: My mixing console was in beneath of the recording scene because AD-converters had to (not to be disturbed by EMI Signals) be close to the MICs. So I did not use the given routed XLR-cables in the walls (50meters) but did it differently: To be able to adjust my mixer, I controlled it via MIDI from distance which I had to solve this way, that I placed a MIDI-Box in beneath of the TASCAM and a long parallel cable to the PC, which was controlled by optical infrared mouse. XLR-Microcables (5m) to TASCAM, 5m MIDI cable, MIDI BOX, 5m parallel, PC already gave me 15meters distance from PC to MICs (not to hear the disc noise).

Well a distant control only with MIDI like your's would have been nice and more easy and gave the chance to use a real midi controlle. But I rarely have this case as I said.
advanced audio recording and production - http://www.96kHz.org
engineer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 3:00 pm
Location: germany

Re: Need to run midi signals beyond 50 ft

Postby midiextender » Sat Mar 30, 2013 10:54 pm

Thanks for sharing! If you ever run into a similar situation in the future, the CAT5 Midi might be a good solution.
thanks!
midiextender
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:02 pm

Re: Need to run midi signals beyond 50 ft

Postby midiextender » Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:40 pm

That is a great example of an application for this! Thanks again
midiextender
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:02 pm

Re: Need to run midi signals beyond 50 ft

Postby midiextender » Sat Apr 27, 2013 9:15 pm

I could see if you were wiring a studio and needed to run midi for synching, you might need some distance.
There was a case at an amusement park where they were using midi to control the shows and needed this.. as everything was run midi from a very far distance. There is also a fiber optic version which transmits much further.
midiextender
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:02 pm

Re: Need to run midi signals beyond 50 ft

Postby shuvo908 » Sat Jun 29, 2013 2:00 pm

On twitter ? wanna tweet or follow great musician synchdub ? https://twitter.com/synchdub
shuvo908
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:39 pm


Return to Electronic Music Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron