Klute – The Emperor’s New Clothes

The Emperor’s New Clothes, the latest release by Klute (UK producer Tom Withers), is a blistering two-cd collection of drum and bass & techno originals.

Withers formerly was a drummer and vocalist in a punk band, and this rock background seems to inform his music. As Klute, his tracks explore the familiar drum and bass format, but offer more of a rock feel.

Withers frequently uses rock drum sounds instead of more electronic sounding samples, along with bass and guitar. As a result, his tracks are unmistakably drum and bass, but sound almost as though they are being performed by a rock band.

Klute’s The Emperor’s New Clothes is great collection of drum and bass tracks, offering a unique twist on the style. It’s one of the best drum and bass releases we’ve heard in a long time – fans of of the style should definitely check it out.

You can preview the tracks via Klute’s site.


Disc: 1
1. We Control The Vertical
2. Toiler
3. The Struggle
4. Never Never
5. Revolution
6. Pissed Jeans
7. SHirtless
8. Learning Curve
9. Flight 720
10. Property Is Theft
11. Outside

Disc: 2
1. 174 Bpm
2. Freedom Come
3. Come Back 2 Me
4. Sold Out
5. ‘Our Leader’
6. Hell Hath No Fury
7. Why We Fight
8. Escape Let Go
9. There Is A Point

Leave a Reply