Preview VCMG’s Ssss (Vince Clarke + Martin Gore) & Tell Us What You Think!

VCMG are releasing one of 2012’s most anticipated musical collaborations with the album Ssss, out on Mute on March 13, 2012.

It marks the reunion of electronic pioneers Vince Clarke (Erasure, Yazoo & Depeche Mode) and Martin L. Gore (Depeche Mode). They have joined forces, for the first time in over thirty years, to craft a 10-track album which demonstrates their mutual love of electronic music.

You can preview Ssss above. Let us know what you think of it!

Ssss Track Listing:

  • Lowly
  • Zaat
  • Spock
  • Windup Robot
  • Bendy Bass
  • Single Blip
  • Skip This Track
  • Aftermaths
  • Recycle
  • Flux

via Mute, VCMG

21 thoughts on “Preview VCMG’s Ssss (Vince Clarke + Martin Gore) & Tell Us What You Think!

  1. Yup. I lost interesting in DM by the time Black Celebration came out, and beyond the first Yaz and mebbe the Assembly 7″ never followed Clark’s career much either. BUT HOT DAMN – Now This Is Fun!

  2. Have loved all VInces work to date and only depeches first couple albums.

    Some interesting electronics in there and would of liked to hear some vocals.

    Maybe both are out of words and not music. However would be interested to know if both were in attendance at same studio or just sent files to one another as the music seems fragmented to me and more a collection of phrases and riffs, not well thought out.


  3. I think this collaboration was done via the net, as both live in seperate parts of the globe. This is purely about synth music, very analogue in sound design. I am enjoying this partnership!

  4. I am a huge Depeche Mode fan, and I love their entire catalogue. As far as Vince, I do think that he is an awesome guy, but I feel that he much more excels at happier, synth pop. The I Say, I Say, I Say album under his Erasure project is a brilliant piece of work, analog synth pop wizardry crafted at the highest level of the game. Ssss is a decent piece of work, but when I consider how amazing these two artists are, it comes as a bit of a let down. Nothing really blew my socks off as I had expected.

  5. Many great synth sounds in this album. They have came in for a lot of criticism as it is clearly not an Erasure or Depeche style album. I personally think they have achieved what they set out to do very well, ie make some fairly minimal electronic dance music. (I am sure that’s what Vince said in an interview! 🙂 There must be many musicians out there that enjoy making other styles of music from what they are commercially successful at, but never get the opportunity to make due to the record company not willing to take any chances. Good on Mute!

  6. wow,heavy synth shit!!!!!
    I want the gear they have used for making this album 🙂
    Please give me some of that gear 🙂

  7. This is a disappointing effort/result of behalf of two great composers. I would have expected something way better then this. What is this? it is not original at all, melodies are lacking and it sounds like any club music. If this was done by an unknown artist it would be totally ignored, but because it has the name of two heavy weights in synth-music history, then everybody is loving it!
    Come on!, I think there are some bedroom producers that are coming with way better material then this.
    I give it 3 out of 10!

    1. I too struggle with what you said. On the one side I want to love it because of who they are. On the flip side I didn’t hear anything new and inventive. After thinking more about it though, why? Why should they have to rise to our expectations (which differ)? This is techno in it’s original state. No whub whub whub, and bobbing heads over a nob on a midi controller. There’s no “I sampled a rain drop hitting the back of a new born kitten, and then ran it through 15 guitar pedals.” Again it is simple techno, and I think I am ok with that. Could someone do better? No doubt. But they did it, and I’m sure they enjoyed doing it. Glad they shared it. Innovation has spoiled us. Just look at the people mad at the “lack” of new iPad features. We expect so much that disappointment is becoming the norm. I’m ready to recalibrate my expectations in life, and be happy with all these amazing things happening around me.

  8. New on KOMPAKT! Errr…it’s a retro Depeche Mode album masquerading as the latest Kompakt release!

    Some nice sounds, but it all seems kinda retro….!!

  9. I am so impressed!!!…i’m still in shock at how incredible this is!…usually musicians of their caliber tend to be stuck in a state of confusion of what they perceive as current…not the case nor the situation here…this is clearly 100% pure unique/electronique/musique…Instant Classic!

  10. Was really looking forward to this duo. One of the worlds greatest songwriters with an electronic genius = a big let down unfortunately in my book. A bigger fan you will not find of these 2 guys but far too techno for me, after 10 lines of coke it may suit, but for the lover of pure electronic synth pop this did not live up to expectation. Pains me to say this, sorry lads

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *