Ian Boddy & Erik Wøllo – Meridian

Synthesist and DiN label head Ian Boddy let us know about his new collaboration with Erik Wøllo, Meridian (DiN54).

Here’s what they have to say about the album:

Playing like a travelogue to an undiscovered land, the album opens in suitably haunting fashion with “Uncharted” with it’s fog horn effects shrouded in mist.

The next two tracks then emerge from this atmosphere and create what will be the template for this album, a pair of uptempo, melodic pieces interspersed with reflective, slow ambient interludes.

The duo effortlessly mix the analogue synth & string textures of Boddy with the intricate interlocking patterns of Wøllo’s guitar, that at times sound like delicate sequencer patterns. The rhythmic tracks slowly build in intensity throughout the album via the charmingly folk inspired tones of “Golden Times” to the climax of “Rescue” with it’s thundering Berlin School inspired bass sequence.

The album ends as it began in a cold swirling mist as the fog horn returns to close the album in a suitably mysterious manner.

The album is filled with rich ambient textures, intricate polyrhythms that recall the music of Steve Reich and intriguing synth work.

You can preview Meridian below:

Ian Boddy:

Serge & Eurorack modular synthesizers, Moog Voyager, Ableton Live running NI Kontakt & Camel Audio Alchemy.

Erik Wøllo:

PRS & Gibson electric guitars, Martin & Ibanez acoustic guitars, Roland guitar synths & Oberheim OB-6.


01 Uncharted 3:46
02 Verdant 5:50
03 Colony 4:2
04 Isolation 4:04
05 Golden Times 4:41
06 Diaspora 5:26
07 Bone Station 3:45
08 Meridian 6:14
09 Rescue 8:28
10 Requiem 5:34
11 Obscured 6:09

Total Time: 58:18

Meridian is available now on DiN records.

One thought on “Ian Boddy & Erik Wøllo – Meridian

Leave a Reply