Vienna Symphonic Library Releases Vienna Special Edition

Vienna Symphonic LibraryThe Vienna Symphonic Library has released Vienna Special Edition, which is now available from Vienna’s worldwide network of distributors and dealers.

The Vienna Special Edition brings together the complete orchestra – and more – in one Collection. It is designed to be ideal for orchestral arrangements on the laptop, offering a useful cross-section of the Vienna Symphonic Library’s over one million samples.

The Standard Library includes 28 instruments and ensembles, covering large post-romantic instrumentation. It contains solo and ensemble strings, solo instruments and ensembles of the brass section, woodwinds ranging from piccolo flute to contra bassoon, harp, drums and percussion as well as celesta and the Bösendorfer Imperial grand piano.

The Extended Library doesn’t offer more articulations to the Standard Library instruments; rather, it contains 35 additional instruments which enhance the symphonic variety of this Collection (e.g., basset horn, contrabass trombone, saxophones, the famous Chamber Strings and Epic Horns). It also adds instruments like the Vienna Konzerthaus Organ, a harpsichord, acoustic and electric guitar, and many more.

Apart from the basic articulations, all string and wind instruments include the Legato Performances characteristic of the Vienna Symphonic Library: real note transitions up to a one octave range are played automatically by the performance detection algorithms of Vienna Instruments when the user plays legato notes.

The Vienna Special Edition is a virtual instrument containing 80 GB of samples in 44.1kHz/24bit that works stand-alone or as a plug-in with AU (OS X) and VST (Win XP, OS X) hosts.


  • Standard Library: EUR345/US-$445
  • Extended Library: EUR465/US-$595
  • Full Library: EUR810/US-$1,040

Registered users of Opus 1 or of Orchestral Cubes or Performance Sets of the FIRST or PRO EDITION enjoy massive upgrade discounts toward the Full Library of the Vienna Special Edition.

Detailed information on upgrade prices, instruments and articulations as well as audio demos can be found at the VSL site.

System Requirements:

  • PC Intel/AMD 2 GHz (3++ GHz recommended) with Windows XP
  • Apple G4 1 GHz (G5 or Intel Core Duo processor recommended) with Mac OS X 10.4 or higher

1 GB RAM (2 GB recommended)
VST (OS X, Win XP) or AU (Mac) compatible host, also works stand-alone on PC and Mac
DVD drive for installation
Fast separate hard drive
88 key master keyboard (highly recommended)
ViennaKey (Vienna Symphonic Library USB Protection Device)
Syncrosoft License Control Center

Leave a Reply