Dulcitone Celesta Sample Library

Dulcitone Celestarealsamples has introduced Dulcitone Celesta, based on the Dyson & Sons Dulcitone tuning-fork piano.

The library is part of the Edition Beurmann, a series of instruments out of the renowned historical keyboard instrument collection of Professor Andreas E. Beurmann.

Built around 1910, this unique instrument sports a vibrant, mellow and charming sound reminiscent of a vibraphone, glockenspiel, marimba and a piano – yet a sound of its own full of patina. At that time, it was inspiring to those looking for a new sound – Pjotr Tschaikowsky wrote some parts of his Nutcracker for a celesta like the dulcitone.

You can hear a demo of the library below.

Being a rather quiet instrument, it seemed unappropriate for orchestral use, so its parts were often played by a glockenspiel instead – luckily, this is not a problem in a sampler. Back then, no one had ever dreamt that a celesta would be as relevant today as ever – being the acoustic ancestor of the most popular vintage electric pianos, which share the same basic sound principles. Providing a warm and full bass, it carries more weight than a toy piano and is great for any track demanding an unconsumed yet familiar sound.

The samples were recorded in 192 khz/24 bits resolution, employing vintage Neumann TLM-170 microphones through Crane Song preamps and Universal Audio 2192 converters. The library contains two versions of the instrument recorded with different stereo settings. It consists of nearly 1500 single samples. for all common sample formats, including presets for HAlion, Kontakt, EXS24, Independence, MachFive, Reason NN-XT, VSampler3 and GigaStudio, amongst others.


  • 8 different samples of each note
  • 4 variations of each key release sound
  • ready to play HAlion/Reason/Kontakt/Independence/MachFive/VSampler3/EXS24 or GigaStudio presets
  • wave format (except GigaStudio version)
  • no mastering applied
  • recorded in 192 khz/24 bits resolution and downsampled
  • DVD/CD set
  • license-free applicable in your music

Pricing and Availability:

Available on CD or DVD starting at $79.95 USD.

Leave a Reply