The Tone Generation – The History Of Electronic Music In A Podcast

BuchlaThe Tone Generation, is a series of audio podcasts that looks at the early history of electronic music.

The Tone Generation is presented by electronic musician and film-maker Ian Helliwell.

Early episodes looked at the history of electronic music by country.

More recent episodes have looked at The RCA Synthesizer, EMS and Buchla, and topics like Women in Electronics and Electronics in Jazz.

You can preview the most recent episode, on Buchla and his synthesizers, below.

Subscribe to the podcast by adding this podcast feed to iTunes or other podcast client:


Here’s the program guide for The Tone Generation episodes, thus far:

Programme 1: Great Britain
Music by: Desmond Briscoe, Daphne Oram, Desmond Leslie, Tristram Cary, Roberto Gerhard, FC Judd and Malcolm Clarke.
Programme 2: France
Music by: Pierre Schaeffer, Iannis Xenakis, Luc Ferrari, Pierre Henry with Michel Colombier and with Spooky Tooth, Ivo Malec and Bernard Parmegiani.
Programme 3: Germany
Music by: Walter Ruttman, Oskar Sala, Herbert Eimert, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Gyorgy Ligeti and Kraftwerk.
Programme 4: Italy
Music by: Luigi Russolo, Luciano Berio, Bruno Maderna, Luigi Nono, Vittorio Gelmetti and John Eaton.
Programme 5: Holland and Belgium
Music by: Henk Badings, Henri Pousseur, Ton Bruynel, Leo Kupper, Tom Dissevelt and Kid Baltan.
Programme 6: Scandanavia
Music by: Rune Lindblad, Karl Birger Blomdahl, Ralph Lundsten, Else Marie Pade, Erkki Kurenniemi and Arne Nordheim.
Programme 7: Eastern Europe
Music by: Edward Artemiev with Yuri Bogdanov, Eugeniusz Rudnik, Bohdan Mazurek, Josef Malovec, Miloslav Istvan, and Ivan Patachich.
Programme 8: USA
Music by: Louis & Bebe Barron, Vladimir Ussachevsky, Milton Babbitt, Morton Subotnick, Haig Mardirosian, Raymond Scott and Gil Melle.
Programme 9: Canada
Music by: Hugh le Caine, Phillip Werren, Barry Truax, Norman McLaren and R. Murray Schafer.
Programme 10: Southern Hemisphere
Music by: Toru Takemitsu, Akira Miyoshi, Bruce Clarke, John Crocker, John Rimmer, Jose Vicente Asuar and Jorge Antunes.
Programme 11: Expo 58
Music by: Edgard Varese, Iannis Xenakis, Henk Badings, Herbert Eimert, Wlodzimierz Kotonski and Henry Jacobs.
Programme 12: The RCA Synthesizer (45 minute edition)
Music by: Otto Leuning, Vladimir Ussachevsky, Milton Babbitt and Charles Wuorinen.
Programme 13: Electronics In Jazz (60 minute edition)
Music by: Tom Dissevelt, Bernard Parmegiani, George Russell, John Baker, John Appleton/Don Cherry, Miles Davis, Paul Bley, Nucleus, Archie Shepp, Freddie Hubbard/Ilhan Mimaroglu, Sun Ra and Herbie Hancock.
Programme 14: Electronics for Dance
Music by: Henk Badings, Remi Gassman, Warner Jepson, Pierre Henry, Ernest Berk and Alwin Nikolais.
Programme 15: Electronic Music Authors
Music by: Karlheinz Stockhausen, John Cage, Lowell Cross, Tristram Cary, Elliott Schwartz and Ernst Krenek.
Programme 16: Electronics for Expos
Music by: Attilio Mineo, Raymond Scott, Otto Joachim, Zbignew Blazje, Marino Zuccheri, Toshi Ichiyanagi, Douglas Lilburn and Arne Nordheim.
Programme 17: EMS
Music by: Tristram Cary, Pink Floyd, Andrzej Dobrowolski, White Noise, Harrison Birtwistle and Priscilla McLean. 
Programme 18: Computer Music
(60 minute edition)
Music by: Newman Guttman, Max Mathews, John R. Pierce, David Lewin, James Tenney, Jean Claude Risset, Lejaren Hiller, Godfrey Winham, James K. Randall, Vladimir Ussachevsky, Barry Vercoe, Charles Dodge, Bruce Pennycook, Timothy Sullivan and Robert Ceely.
Programme 19: Women In Electronics
Music by: Else Marie Pade, Jean Ichelberger Ivey, Pril Smiley, Daria Semegen, Ludmilla Frajt, Laurie Spiegel and Lily Greenham.
Programme 20: Electronics and Voice
Music by: Richard Maxfield, Luciano Berio, Mel Powell, Herbert Brun, Kenneth Gaburo, Gordon Mumma and Richard Trythall.
Programme 21: Buchla
Music by: Morton Subotnick, Ernst Krenek, Michael Czajkowski, Warner Jepson, Bulent Arel and Arthur Kreiger.
Programme 22: Moog
In preparation…

via musicofsoundSynthtopia,

Leave a Reply