Free Orchestral Strings One Virtual Instrument For Mac, Windows

Sound Magic has released Orchestral Strings One – a free virtual instrument for Mac & Windows.

Here’s what they have to say about Orchestral Strings One:

Orchestral Strings One features the sound of the Berliner Philharmoniker, with 14 violins,10 Violas, 8 Cellos and 6 Double Basses. To ensure the highest sound quality possible in our samples, we use top-of-the-line gear such as Brauner Microphones and Neve preamps. Couple this gear with the prodigious Berliner Hall and Orchestral Strings One is able to push the boundaries of realism – with the aid of Sound Magic’s Award-Winning NEO Hybrid Modeling Technology, of course!

The NEO Hybrid Modeling Engine offers you the best from both the sampling and modeling worlds. The Authentic Sound of Sampling combined with the Playability of Modeling makes for a string experience that you have to try to believe!


  • Innovative Sampling technologies put 14 violins, 10 Violas, 8 Cellos and 6 Double Basses into One instrument.
  • Neo Hybrid Modeling Engine make the full strings section into 200MB.
  • Innovative Key Switch and Controller system makes it ideal for use in live performance.
  • Can real-time switch between Spic, Staccato, Pizzicato, Legato, Cresando, Decresando, PFP, Vibrato, Tremolo, Trills and Sordino by Key Switches and MIDI Controllers.
  • Fully controllable legato system.
  • Auto Rhythm Tool helps you better and quicker play repeated notes on fly.
  • Multi Microphone Positions, Player, Audience and Ambience/Room.
  • Small RAM usage and Light on CPU.
  • Built-in High-Quality Reverb.
  • Built in 64-Steps Sequencer enable users to compose their string phrases in a quickest and efficient way.
  • Support Add-ons System.

Orchestral Strings One is available now, for Mac & PC, via KVR.

If you’ve tried Orchestral Strings One, let us know what you think of it!

6 thoughts on “Free Orchestral Strings One Virtual Instrument For Mac, Windows

  1. i’ve been in need of an orchestral VST and have been planning to buy miroslav philharmonik, but this sounds like it could be pretty useful in the meantime. wonder how they can give it away for free, though – using high quality gear with professional musicians and engineers isn’t cheap.

  2. I guess they need to give us that first dose for free. Sounds intriguing. I’m gonna download it now!

    I hope they will follow with free woodwinds & brass!!!

  3. The UI is *terrible* but it’s not too shabby sounding — the sustained instruments aren’t the greatest but the staccato and pizzicato sounds are nice, so it’ll probably find its way in to my arsenal at some point…

    1. i agree the UI is awful. everything sounds pretty nice…except for the sustained patch. it sounds somewhere between a bad string sound a melodica and an accordion.

Leave a Reply