Enterphase – Solar Promenades

Solar Promenades, the latest release from Enterphase, is a strong set of new age/space music tracks that are dreamy and melodic, but that also carry an undercurrent of mystery and darkness.

Enterphase is made up of keyboardists Fred Becker and Jeff Filbert. On this release, they are joined by David Wright, Dean de Benedictis and John Dumitru, who contribute additional synth work and sound design. They make creative use of a massive arsenal of synths.

Enterphase’s music recalls the sounds of classic space music and Berlin school electronica of the sevenites. Their music has hints of early Tangerine Dream, Klaus Schulze, Mychael Danna, Steve Roach and Michael Stearns.

enterphase solar promenadesMany of the tracks on Solar Promenades are gentle and contemplative. Enterphase makes extensive use of the bell-like sounds of the Yamaha DX7, along with slow, phasing strings, creating textures that change continually without jarring. They make subtle use of sequencers to shape their tracks, repeating minimal melodies to create reflective atmospheres.

The tracks on Solar Promenades have a cinematic quality that encourages mental imagery. Each track establishes a set of sounds and textures, and then Enterphases weaves together improvised melodies and effects. Some of the highlights of the CD are: Ray Bradbury’s Ghost, an extended track that glides slowly forward on a guitar-like sequenced melody; Time Unbound, which features interesting synth soloing over hypnotic sequences; and the final track, For You, which moves between dark ambient music to a mellow jazz vibe and back.

The sound quality of the CD is excellent. Solar Promenades makes you want to turn up your stereo, close your eyes, and experience the glory of beautiful synth work.


  • Solar Promenades
  • After Service
  • Procession at Dawn
  • Snow Paths
  • Ice and Lace
  • Courtyard Memories
  • Ray Bradbury’s Ghost
  • Sky Surge
  • Time Unbound
  • When the Morrow Breaks
  • For You

Leave a Reply